Staff & Board


working-1219889_1920We have a staff of four full-time lawyers, an office manager, and many volunteer attorneys, law students, paralegal students, and undergraduates who help us in our work.  Our volunteers donate generous amounts of time and their professional skills in helping workers receive their unemployment benefits.  In addition, we have an active board of directors who effectively provide direction to the organization.

Staff Members

You may email the following staff by sending an email addressed to his or her user name

John Tirpak
Executive Director/Attorney
User name: jtirpak

Juliana Repp
Spokane Managing Attorney
User name: jrepp

Anne Paxton
Staff Attorney
User name: anne

Hyun-Ji Lee
Staff Attorney
User name: hlee

Jason Arends
Office Manager/Paralegal
User name: jason

Board of Directors

Our governing body consists of twelve members who have all accepted a leadership role in terms of directing the ULP. They meet six times a year and chart the direction of the organization.


Joseph Shaeffer — (Partner) MacDonald Hoague & Bayless

Vice President

Jennifer Murray — Terrell Marshall Daudt & Willie PLLC


Jeneé Jahn — City of Seattle Office of Civil Rights


Eric Gonzalez — American Civil Liberties Union


Ahmed Abdi — Fair Work Center

Upendra Arychara — Gonzaga School of Law

Colleen Balatbat — Washington State Department of Health

Amanda Ballantyne — National Director of Main Street Alliance

Lillian Kaide — Jefferson County Public Defense

Andres Munoz — Yakima County Public Defense

Erin Pettigrew — Innovation Law Lab

Jennifer Yogi — Northwest Justice Project